

Council (Special)

Wednesday 3 April 2019 at 2.00 pm

(Special meeting convened under the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972)

Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend



COUNCIL (SPECIAL)

Wednesday 3 April 2019, at 2.00 pm Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor Magid Magid)
THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Tony Downing)

	The Derivative Mark (Southerner Forty Domining)					
1	Beauchief & Greenhill Ward Simon Clement-Jones Bob Pullin Richard Shaw	10	East Ecclesfield Ward Andy Bainbridge Moya O'Rourke Steve Wilson	19	Nether Edge & Sharrow Ward Mohammad Maroof Jim Steinke Alison Teal	
2	Beighton Ward Chris Rosling-Josephs Ian Saunders Sophie Wilson	11	Ecclesall Ward Roger Davison Shaffaq Mohammed Paul Scriven	20	Park & Arbourthorne Ward Julie Dore Ben Miskell Jack Scott	
3	Birley Ward Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan	12	Firth Park Ward Abdul Khayum Alan Law Abtisam Mohamed	21	Richmond Ward Mike Drabble Dianne Hurst Peter Rippon	
4	Broomhill & Sharrow Vale Ward Michelle Cook Magid Magid Kaltum Rivers	13	Fulwood Ward Sue Alston Andrew Sangar Cliff Woodcraft	22	Shiregreen & Brightside Ward Dawn Dale Peter Price Garry Weatherall	
5	Burngreave Ward Jackie Drayton Talib Hussain Mark Jones	14	Gleadless Valley Ward Lewis Dagnall Cate McDonald Chris Peace	23	Southey Ward Mike Chaplin Tony Damms Jayne Dunn	
6	City Ward Douglas Johnson Robert Murphy Martin Phipps	15	Graves Park Ward Ian Auckland Sue Auckland Steve Ayris	24	Stannington Ward David Baker Penny Baker Vickie Priestley	
7	Crookes & Crosspool Ward Adam Hanrahan Mohammed Mahroof Anne Murphy	16	Hillsborough Ward Bob Johnson George Lindars-Hammond Josie Paszek	25	Stocksbridge & Upper Don Ward Jack Clarkson Keith Davis Francyne Johnson	
8	Darnall Ward Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea Zahira Naz	17	Manor Castle Ward Lisa Banes Terry Fox Pat Midgley	26	<i>Walkley Ward</i> Olivia Blake Ben Curran Neale Gibson	
9	Dore & Totley Ward Joe Otten Colin Ross Martin Smith	18	Mosborough Ward David Barker Tony Downing Gail Smith	27	West Ecclesfield Ward John Booker Adam Hurst Mike Levery	
				28	Woodhouse Ward Mick Rooney	

Jackie Satur Paul Wood John Mothersole

Chief Executive

Paul Robinson, Democratic Services
Tel: 0114 2734029
paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at www.sheffield.gov.uk. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Council meetings and recording is allowed under the direction of the Chair. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information regarding public questions and petitions and details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

COUNCIL (SPECIAL)

AGENDA

3 APRIL 2019

Order of Business

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any interests they have in the business to be considered at the meeting.

3. HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE CITY OF SHEFFIELD - MR JOHN BURKHILL

To move:-

"That under and by virtue of the provisions of Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Honorary Freedom of the City of Sheffield be conferred by the Council on Mr John Burkhill, B.E.M., in recognition of his legendary fundraising and volunteering for cancer charity Macmillan, and, in doing so, rendering eminent services to the City."

Chief Executive

Dated this 26 day of March 2019